Positive Thinking in the Thought-Belief Conversation

By Staci Stallings

Positive Thinking in the Thought-Belief Conversation

You may be wondering why if our thoughts are so powerful, why doesn’t just thinking positively work?

Let’s try our Thought-Belief Conversation using positive thoughts.

Thought:  I can do this.  I can do this.

Belief:  No, I can’t because I’m a failure.

Thought:  No, I’m not.  I’m not a failure.  I can do this if I just think I can.

Belief:  Yeah, right.  I never do anything right.  What makes me think this time will be any different?

Thought:  I just have to try a little harder.

Belief:  What good will that do?  The truth is:  I’m a failure and I always will be.

I don’t know about you, but that conversation rings really true for me.  I’ve had that very conversation so often with myself I should’ve just recorded it and hit play.  It would’ve saved a lot of time.

Of course, many times my Thoughts were able to override my Beliefs, but these were hollow victories at best.  Because no matter how well I did, I knew the real story.  I knew I was just faking it really good, and that couldn’t last forever.

The REAL Issue

So where does that leave us?  We now understand that our Thoughts control our feelings and our actions, and we know that our Thoughts and our Beliefs have a running conversation with each other that often leads us to doubt even our good moments.  What becomes clear is that to change our lives in any area, we need to fundamentally change not just our Thoughts but our Beliefs as well.

In short, we need to move from the Try Harder and Give Up wheels, from engorging ourselves on the Tree of the Knowledge of Good and Evil, from pushing that car every day to living on the God Wheel, eating only from the Tree of Life, to letting God be our driver.

But how do you do that?

The God Problem

Our understanding of our relationship with God is the foundation of our Beliefs about ourselves, everything, and everyone else.  If we believe God to be a task-master, outside ourselves, who establishes rules we’d better keep or else, we will see ourselves as weak, vulnerable, and fearful.  And many of us see ourselves precisely that way.  In fact, to the extent you see yourself this way, you will have real trouble with one or more of the issues you identified earlier.

The truth is:

You don’t have a weight problem.  You have a God Problem.

You don’t have a financial problem.  You have a God Problem.

You don’t have a career problem.  You have a God Problem.

You don’t have relationship problems.  You have God Problems.

It really doesn’t matter what the issue is in your life—if it is with your mother, your co-worker, your spouse, your checkbook, your lack of success, your weight, or your stress level.  If you’ve got a problem, you’ve got a God Problem.

In fact, psychologist, Carl Jung said, “At the bottom of all psychological problems are spiritual problems.”

Needless to say, I agree, and here’s why.

Our Relationship with God forms our Beliefs.  Our Beliefs influence our Thoughts.  Our Thoughts give rise to our Feelings and our Actions.  All of these comprise the world we live in.

To change the world we live in, we must begin at the root source:  our relationship with God.

About Staci Stallings

Staci Stallings shares her heart for God with her novels, articles, and conversations. She loves making new friends, writing, and playing piano and guitar.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

