The 9-12 Project: Day 5

Day 5

I can trust God.

What would it be like if you knew absolutely to the bottom of your soul that you could trust God?  Would there ever be an argument against doing something He tells you to do?  Would you ever question His voice in your soul?  Would you scramble for excuses to get out of what He’s asking you to do?  Or would you wake up every day excited to see what He wants to show you today?  Would you say yes when you mean yes and no when you mean no and not worry about what the world says about it?

A friend once had a crisis of faith.  She had come up with an awesome lesson plan for her Sunday School class, but when class came, turmoil reigned and the lesson did not “work” as she had planned.  I asked her as she kept telling me what a failure she was, “Did you put it in the Holy Spirit’s hands?”  She said, “Yes.”  So I said, “Okay. Can the Holy Spirit fail?”  “No.”  “Then if you put it in the Holy Spirit’s hands, and the Holy Spirit cannot fail, can you fail?”  It took her forever to say the answer:  “No.”

I believe we stand on the cliff of what we could do, of what we’re being called to do, like an eagle on a high precipice.  But the eagle has one on us.  He will jump.  He will choose to fly. We’re still standing up there going, “I don’t know, God. What if that wind current doesn’t hold me up like You said it would?  What if I fail?  What if someone criticizes me?  What if this flying thing is just too hard for me to do?  Maybe for other eagles, but I’m not that young anymore (or old enough, or smart enough, or strong enough…)”

The truth is:  we either believe and trust God, or we don’t.  That’s an uncomfortable choice because we’d like to think we believe in God, but when we don’t believe Him and trust in His answer by making excuses to get us out of doing what He’s asking us to do, the truth is, we have limited how much we trust Him. (The good news is, He loves us anyway and will stay and work with us even when we are being obstinate or scared.)

Today is the day to trust.  Period. No matter what.

During one of my biggest crises of faith, I said to God (angrily), “Am I supposed to trust You even now?”  And He replied, “No, not even now.  Especially now.”  Trust is about always, even when…no, especially when it’s hard.

Lord, I admit that my trust in You has wavered.  I admit I have gotten scared of Your path and tried to take my own.  I don’t want to do that anymore.  Help me, Lord. Help me to have faith and to trust in You in the even now times but most of all in the especially now times.  Help me to remember that whatever You bring into my life, You can handle through me and all I must do is surrender to Your understanding, Your control, Your answer, and Your love.  Amen.

Record your thoughts here.

Copyright Staci Stallings, 2008

About Staci Stallings

Staci Stallings shares her heart for God with her novels, articles, and conversations. She loves making new friends, writing, and playing piano and guitar.
This entry was posted in Life Building, The 9-12 Project and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

