The 9-12 Project: Day 14 & 15

Day 14

Value # 2. Humility.

Most of us don’t like that word.  Humility. The world has told us to be humble and modest and then taught us to be anything but.  In fact, most of us think that being humble is to say, “Well, it wasn’t really all that great” when someone praises our work.  Or “well, I just threw this meal together” even if we’ve worked six hours on it.  These are not humble.  They are degrading.  They make us feel empty and worthless.

True humility does not make you feel empty or worthless.  It makes you feel so full you could burst because it reorients your gaze from yourself to God.  As you take steps in faith, doing things you know you could never do on your own, you become acutely aware at how small you are and humbled that God would want to be so personally close to you and even more that He would choose to work through you.  You “get it” at a very deep level that you aren’t the one doing this at all.  He is.

And strangely that becomes a very good thing in your life rather than something that makes you feel unworthy. Humble says, “I am unworthy so I’ve thrown myself at the mercy of God, and He came through in a big way.  I’m awestruck at what He’s done.”  When you get humble, you don’t stop producing fruit, the fruit that God produces in your life will stun everyone—even you.  And that will make you even more humble.

I have come to the point in my life where I don’t have any desire to sit at God’s right hand or left hand in glory.  I’d rather have the floor at His feet.  “God, I can’t do this.  Please, please, show up.  I need You more than I have ever needed You before.”  I spend most of my time on God’s floor, and it’s not such a bad place to be.

I think one of the most trying things that teaches us to be humble is waiting.  God will make you wait.  That is a promise. He will make you wait on His answer.  He will make you wait so you will learn to trust Him even in the times it looks like nothing is happening.  This is a good thing.  It keeps you humble if you let it.

Someone once said, “God makes us wait so we can determine if we are grateful for the gift or for the Giver.”  Humble means you are more grateful for the Giver because you know the gift came from Him and not you.

Dear Lord, help me to see You in every good thing that is in my life.  Help me to see how long You’ve been working toward the good events in my life.  Help me to rely ever more on You.  Amen.

Record your thoughts.

Day 15

Value #3. Confidence.

Oh, do we get this one wrong too!  It takes going back to the Greek/Latin root words to understand this word in the proper context.  There are two critical components of the word confidence.

Con.  The root word “con” means “with.”

Fid. The root word “fid” means “faith.”

So confidence is “with faith.”  Confidence does not come from you.  It comes from having faith in God.  When we divorced from this meaning, we set people up for a lot of grief and feeling like failures.  We tell them to step out and be brave to have confidence but not within the context of God doing it through them.  So we’re left at the mercy of our own ability trying to manufacture a poor humanistic substitute for true confidence (trust me, “self-confidence” is a trap of epic proportions!). It won’t work.  It’s a set up for disappointment and failure.

In the movie “Facing the Giants,” there is a great line the coach says right before the team’s turning point game:  “Be humble but confident.”  If we don’t understand these two words properly, this line is incomprehensible.  How am I supposed to be humble… i.e. profess that I haven’t done all that much while being confident, professing that I can do this.

Only with and through God do we understand that I can be confident because I’m taking this step with faith in a humble understanding that God has to come through for me here or I am sunk!

God is so cool!

Dear Lord, I want to proceed in all times and in all ways “with faith.” You are “it,” God.  You are my salvation.  You are my help.  You are the One Who can turn the impossible into the possible.  Lord, I invite you in.  Help me to walk in confidence while being humble.

Record your thoughts.

Copyright Staci Stallings, 2008

About Staci Stallings

Staci Stallings shares her heart for God with her novels, articles, and conversations. She loves making new friends, writing, and playing piano and guitar.
This entry was posted in Life Building, The 9-12 Project and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

