The 9-12 Project: Day 21

Day 21

Courage.

The Bible says some form of the following 366 times:  Do not be afraid.

I think God did that on purpose so there was one for every day of the year, and one for Leap Year too.

Having courage when it’s all up to us is daunting, but God didn’t say it was all up to us.  He said it was all up to Him.  2 Chronicles 20:15 and 17 says:

“Do not be afraid or discouraged because of this vast army arrayed against you. For the battle is not yours, but God’s… You need not fight in this battle. Station yourselves. Stand and see the salvation of the Lord on your behalf.”

You may never have understood life this way before, but today, I’m inviting you to step into a new understanding.  I’m inviting you to see that the battle God has called you to is not one He expects you to fight for Him, but rather one He wants to fight through you and for you.

I told a friend recently that I have thought for a long time that I was like a soldier standing outside the cave she was trapped in by a dragon.  To get her out of that cave of despair and hopelessness, I have battled and fought and listened and breathed and fought and talked and listened and waited and prayed and prayed and prayed.  There were times I wondered if the dragon was too strong, if I could go the distance, if there was even any point to the battle, if winning was even possible, but I kept fighting because I believed that God was going to do something amazing through me for her.  Now I didn’t go into this battle alone.  I could never have prevailed.

Moreover, I knew the battle was not mine but God’s.  So I let Him speak through me. I let Him be my patience and my peace.  I let Him be my strength.

And the other day, she began telling me about a new friend she had.  This friend is in a cave of despair and hopelessness, and my friend began telling me the things she was sharing with her new friend—things like what being humble really means and how having a deep need for God is a great place to start.  As I listened, I began to understand.

The battle has shifted.  She still goes back into that cave on occasion, but she no longer lives there.  The dragon has been slayed and each reincarnation it tries to make is weaker though it looks bigger.  But the illusion has been unveiled.  We know it is really powerless.

Prayer has been huge for us—prayer for her, prayer with her.  Drawing us both ever closer to God. As she leaned on me, I leaned on God. I relied on God for my part, and I constantly pulled her close so that His love flowed from me onto her.  Best of all, as evidenced by her new friend, she learned the lessons and began being the one to draw nearer to Him, pulling her friend closer into the overflow.

And this pattern is now repeating in her life with other friends and in my life with other friends…

Courage is having the faith to begin, the faith to take this step, the one God is asking you to take.  Breathe.  Believe.  Have faith.  Trust.  Do.  The battle is God’s and He will win it for you because He loves you more than you can ever know or imagine.  He is safe.  Rest in Him even as He works through your life to victory.

Please record your thoughts here:

Copyright Staci Stallings, 2008

About Staci Stallings

Staci Stallings shares her heart for God with her novels, articles, and conversations. She loves making new friends, writing, and playing piano and guitar.
This entry was posted in Life Building, The 9-12 Project and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

